Homeschooling 101: Developing Your Educational Philosophy

I often feel that I don’t write enough here, but I then realize I don’t know what to write. I haven’t been doing this long enough to have a lot of advice to offer. I guess I could present personal stories of our homeschooling but I honestly feel like it is banal. I love the time I get to spend with my son but I just don’t know how exciting I can make sentence diagramming and Latin translations.

 

Anyway, The Homeschool Mom has been putting out a series of posts called Homeschooling 101 that I have found very interesting, especially this one. So I am sharing it with my answer to the question she asks at the end of the post hoping someone will find it helpful.

 

“I want my children’s education to produce in them beautiful minds that continually thirst for knowledge and the analytic skills to evaluate the knowledge they acquire according to God’s standards.”

 

I developed that philosophy by praying as I worked through Cathy Duffy’s book. It made me think about a lot of things that I hadn’t considered when I started on our homeschool journey. I actually find the first third of the book way more helpful than the curriculum selections and I suggest the book as a jumping off point whenever I encounter someone else just starting. It doesn’t go in depth about everything, but it does present a good overview that allows you to decide what you want to investigate further.

A Homeschool Mom

The next essential step in a successful homeschool journey… establishing a philosophy for learning.

Philosophy – a theory or attitude held by a person or organization that acts as a guiding principle for behavior.

……

Homeschooling101No two homeschooling families are the same. Each of us is uniquely equipped to pursue the path the Lord has given us. Why then, should our philosophies on learning be any different?

Through both prayer and discussion with your husband (steps 1 & 2 of Homeschooling 101), begin to establish what it is the Lord wants from your family in this adventure called learning.

Now, by philosophy, I don’t mean which method of teaching you wish to subscribe to (that is a whole different ball game). What I want new families to focus on, is listening to the call of the Lord and hearing what He is asking of their homeschooling.

For example, in our…

View original post 198 more words

Leave a Reply

