Link

Is Public School an Option?

From an article I found on the Answers in Genesis site that raises some good questions:

The growing chaos in society is forcing Christians to rethink even their most cherished assumptions about their relationship with government institutions. For example, is public education even an option anymore? Should Christian parents send their children to the public schools?

 

The article is really thought provoking. It addresses a lot of the reasons we don’t think public school is an option, though it does leave out the fact that I just enjoy spending that time with my children instead of ceding it to government babysitters. My son has really grown a lot over the past year. I have seen him grow to love things that he hated while in a public school. The atmosphere we are able to create at home is much more conducive to learning than sitting quietly in rows, raising your hand to speak, asking permission to go to the bathroom. School just doesn’t seem natural to me. I can’t think of another time in life where one finds oneself under those conditions. We will do everything we can to school our children ourselves, even if our business fails and we both have to get “normal” jobs I think I would find a way to do school when I’m not working. But I know not everybody feels the same. So, is public school an option any more? What do you think? Are you okay sending your kids to public school? Why or why not? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

