Link

A Rebuttal To The Parent Who “Investigated” Common Core

Lady Liberty 1885

Well, Nancy Stone of Holly Springs mad a splash with the Common Core opposition parents and her “investigation” of Common Core. Or rather lack of investigation. The op-ed having the word ‘investigate’ anywhere in the title is laughable; no ‘investigating’ was done. Instead, this is a not to subtle regurgitation of all the same pro-Core talking points we’ve seen for two years now.  It’s about what I’d expect from NC Policy Watch. Prime example:

“..the standards are just very long lists of what students should know and be able to do from Kindergarten through High School.”

Yawn. Taking the literal road are we? Well done ma’am.   Yes, standards are just a list.
A fundamentally flawed, experimental list which is age and developmentally inappropriate in the primary grades and dumbs our kids down in the secondary ones.  Just a list that dictate testing, materials, curriculum etc. Just a list.

Another…

View original post 1,424 more words

5 thoughts on “A Rebuttal To The Parent Who “Investigated” Common Core

  1. Would you say that anyone who follows any kind of Scope and Sequence, and then assesses their children against it to measure their success, is guilty of applying a “list” of standards? If not, what is the difference. In Texas, we do not follow Common Core, but the State does have standards that are taught and each child is assessed and a measure is provided showing a level of success and failure. Would using a Scope and Sequence alone, as a guideline or menu of options, but not as a means of assessing success, be acceptable?

    • The problem is that the standards were created in secret without any parent input. It is top down from the government level and it is tyrannical in its control. States were bribed into accepting it and, now that states are waking up and trying to opt out, they are trying to make it impossible. Not only will they punish the rebelling states financially, but they are trying to trap students into having to know what the standards are because they are allowing all of the tests to it. The G.E.D. is now going to be Common Core aligned. The SAT will be, as will the AP exams, and the ACT. One of the chief architects of Common Core is now the head of the College Board. They are trying to set it up so that kids cannot function outside of the system.

      Once they get the kids into the system they mine all kinds of data on them and their families. They have them at Kindergarten but they are trying to get them much earlier. And once they are in, they are in, the information will follow them for life. The government has already said that they will be able to be accessed by employers when kids leave school, by law enforcement, and by any number of government agencies. They are so close to establishing a cradle to grave system.

      And that doesn’t even address whether the standards are any good or not.

      • I agree with all of that, but you didn’t answer the question. I’m interested as a homeschooling mom. The question to use a scope and sequence or simply start with the three R’s and build with them on the interest of the child. What about parents who choose to use a scope and sequence (I don’t) to build their curriculum or use a curriculum that is already built. They are built on a set of standards. The parent didn’t build them. The parent may or may not be using the standards to measure success of their child. My argument would be that they are guilty of the same cookie cutter mentality. I’m not interested in doing that for my child. Asking for your perspective..

  2. I don’t have a problem with a scope and sequence. Where I live we have to cover certain classes, we have to complete certain credits to earn a diploma for our homeschool students. But I get to choose how to go about fulfilling those credits. We have to cover so many math credits but I get to choose how. I can use a mastery system like Singapore or an incremental system like Saxon. I can use a discovery system like Art of Problem Solving or even a story like Life of Fred. The choice is mine.

    Take economics and civics as another example. I have to cover it but I can choose how. I can make it very basic or in depth. I can teach Keynesian or the Austrian school for economics and I can teach a liberal or conservative view of government. I can even teach libertarianism/minarchism/anarcho-captitalism/voluntarism. Again, the choice is mine.

    I have to teach US history but I can teach it my way. If I want to use a text book I can, but I want to cover history by reading living books I can do that as well. And again, I can teach it however I want. If I want to teach that the North had a moral imperative for the Civil War and Lincoln was a hero, then I am free to. However, if I believe that the North was wrong, the Union was voluntary, and states should have been free to leave if they wanted to, I can teach that Lincoln was an immoral tyrant and the North was wrong.

    I don’t have a problem with a lose framework because I can choose how to flesh it out. If I didn’t have one then I would have to make one because I don’t want to wander without a destination. And, if parents want to use a boxed curriculum like Abeka, BJU, Sonlight, etc., then they are making that choice. They look at the choices and they get to choose. If a parent makes an informed decision to put their kids in private or even public school then that is their choice.

    But Common Core was enacted without any parental input and they are trying to use it to create a system that leaves no choice. My goal is to make sure parents have choice, not to judge what they do with their choices. I believe in Classical education. I believe that it is the best education anyone can give a child, but it isn’t my place to force a parent to use it. I would hope parents would pray and ask God what is right for their family. If they do that who am I to question? Who am I to question even if they don’t? I believe in personal liberty and Common Core stands in direct opposition to that. That is my problem with it. But I’m not going to condemn a parent trying to do the best for their kids because they choose to purchase a box curriculum instead of piecing everything together themselves.

    • I’m in total opposition to Common Core being implemented. I believe in liberty(too), right after following God and thinking of others. I think parents need to be careful sticking to a list of “must learn this year”. The Bible is a priority. No contest. But you don’t teach everything in the Bible all at once, and there are some texts that you save until your children are older. Each child is different, considering comprehension, and maturity (both spiritual and emotional). The need to follow the child is huge. I fear some parents don’t see the similarities in following a set of standards (of any kind/origin). Sometimes the list does lead them to judge their children or measure their success against what was checked off of that list this year.

Leave a Reply

