My Attempt at a Reading List

I love books. They are wonderful. I love the smell, the texture of the paper under your fingertips, the sound of the paper as you turn the pages, everything about them is amazing. And I love book lists. I recently made a list of my summer reading, and I must admit that one of the first things I did once we decided to homeschool was to make a list of books I want my son to read. I had so many wonderful titles I wanted to make sure we got to.

I came up with between 35 and 45 books a year for him to read between grades 4 and 12. A large number of these come from Omnibus, or will come from whatever history/literature curriculum we end up using at the upper grades, but I definitely have selections that I want him to read regardless of that choice. I am keeping notes on what we like and what we don’t, and I’m also keeping notes of what we decide not to read and what we add for history/literature programs as we go for use when his younger brother and sister eventually make their way to these grades. 

I am not going to list all of those here, but what I do want to list are some wonderful books for boys. I keep seeing these lists requested by parents on different homeschool networks and, having two boys myself, I thought I would give I a shot. These will cover a decent range of reading levels between advanced second grade and middle school. While none of these are terribly obscure, I hope it will help give people some ideas for their boys.

Charlotte’s Web

The Trumpet of the Swan

Little Men

The Phantom Tollbooth

Castle

Cathedral 

Mill (or any of David Macauly’s building books)

Fantastic Mr. Fox

The Prince and the Pauper

Fortunately, The Milk

The Indian in the Cupboard

Hatchet (and its sequels)

The Graveyard Book

A Wrinkle in Time quintet

The Iliad

The Odyssey

The Aeneid

The Chronicles of Narnia

The Hobbit (I love the new cover art on these)

The Lord of the Rings trilogy (I, II, III) (I love the new cover art on these)

Carry on Mr. Bowditch

Sherlock Holmes

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Around the World in 80 Days

Treasure Island

Call of the Wild

Kidnapped

Blackthorn Winter

Susan Creek

Two Williams

Barbary Jihad

Squalls Before War

Crown and Covenant series

Faith and Freedom trilogy

The Giver

The Little Prince

Fahrenheit 451

The Yearling

Johnny Tremain

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

James and the Giant Peach

The BFG

Encyclopedia Brown

The Hardy Boys

The Swiss Family Robinson 

Robinson Crusoe

The Percy Jackson series

The Mysterious Benedict Society series

From the Earth to the Moon

A Christmas Carol

History Lives series

Animal Farm

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

Wonderstruck

John Carter of Mars series

Holes

The Ender Quintet

The City of Ember series

The Red Badge of Courage

The American Boy’s Handy Book

Watership Down

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIHM

The Wind in the Willows

To Kill a Mockingbird

The Story of King Arthur and His Knights

Where the Red Fern Grows

David Copperfield

Oliver Twist

Jim the Boy

Blue Skin of the Sea

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

Journey to the Center of the Earth

The Time Machine

The Bronze Bow

One thought on “My Attempt at a Reading List

Leave a Reply

