All of the benefits with none of the work

I am continually in awe of what social media networks’ “intelligent” algorithms think I am interested in. Case in point, this story that was in my Facebook feed today: 20-Somethings Have Invented a New Relationship Status, and It’s Called “Dating Partner”

“Dating Partners” are a perfect metaphor for what is wrong with our society. People that want to play “married” for a short amount of time without all of the “icky” commitment that comes with it. When things get remotely difficult, or even a little bit boring, you just bail and move on to the next sex partner. I can’t say it better than the article does:

“I don’t think monogamy is for everyone,” said Ian*, 29, who’s been in a cycle of dating partners before. “I don’t plan on getting married nor do I approach dating seeking out the perfect person for me to spend my ‘forever’ with.”

This is very, very sad.

One thought on “All of the benefits with none of the work

  1. Wow! That is really sad! I know in my 20s I flipped-flopped with my feelings of commitment and just “dating partners.” Looking back on my mistakes in dating, I understand now that love and monogamy is a beautiful thing! You’re right, our society has now shifted to “dating partners” and casual sex is perfectly acceptable, when in reality it is very damaging to both parties involved.

Leave a Reply

