Reading List: 2015

As it is obvious I am out of opportunity to add to this list, I am not waiting until the new year to post it. I had set a goal of reading two books a month over the course of 2015, and I exceeded my goal by six books. There were months I was much more motivated than others, but I never fell below two books per month. I am happy with this, though I do not know if I would do it this way again. I’m not sure I need to reach a certain number to consider it a success.

My goal was to read a lot of non-fiction over the past year, and again I succeeded. I had thought it would be mostly spiritual and homeschool books, but a large chunk of history, specifically about trains and the railroad, found their way in. My plan for the coming year is to be more diverse in my reading. I would like to keep a selection of spiritual and homeschool books but add some more fiction, specifically classics. And that is why I’m not sure a strict “two books a month” is doable.

I would like to read War and Peace, The Brothers Karamazov, and Moby Dick over the next year. I know I cannot read two of them in a month. But, should it take me two or three months to finish one, at least I am steadily working toward a worthy goal. I’m not sure how to track this, though. I don’t want to set an arbitrary number, but I do want to make sure that I am consistently working toward reading these books.

My biggest issue is needing to reclaim my leisure time. I spent too much time watching television this year and I need to get back to my books and my games. When I indulge, I want it to be in activities that actually enrich. This, however, is much easier said than done. It will take a lot of work to change the bad habits I have fallen into over the past couple of years, but I feel up to the task.

Anyway, here is my list with links to the books on Amazon so you can check them out should you want to. These are not necessarily the editions I read. For instance, my copy of The Great and Shining Road was a used library book. And I am including a few brief comments about certain books, both positive and negative:

AHA – Jan
I Am A Church Member – Jan

The Liberal Arts Tradition – Feb (A good primer on Classical education.)
A Grief Observed – Feb

The Constitution Made Easy – March
The Reason for God – March

Consider This – April (A very good book for homeschoolers.)
Mysterious Benedict Society – April (I enjoyed reading this with my son.)

Caught Up in a Story – May
Galatians For You – May (Keller makes things practical and applicable.)

Crimes of the Educators – June (Good info but repetitive in presentation.)
The Well-Trained Mind – June (Not really Classical, but a good practical guide to homeschooling.)

The Colonial Experience 1607-1774 – July (These will be our middle and high school history texts.)
The Sections and the Civil War 1826-1877 – July (These will be our middle and high school history texts.)
The People of God – July

Norms & Nobility – August (The best book on Classical I’ve read.)
How Should We Then Live? – August (Simply amazing.)
The Little Red Book of Wisdom – August

Teaching from Rest – September
The Rector of Justin – September (One of the best fiction books I’ve read.)
The Silkworm – September (Guilty pleasure fluff book)

10 Ways to Destroy the Imagination of Your Child – October (Very Good.)
Mr. Lincoln’s Army – October

Career of Evil – November (Guilty pleasure fluff book)
Co. Aytch – November (Read with my son for school.)
The Great Railroad Revolution – November
Full Steam Ahead – November (Recommended for any homeschool.)
The Great and Shining Road – November (Great account of the building of the Transcontinental Railroad.)

The Dawning of Indestructible Joy – December (Recommended.)
A Christmas Carol – December (A classic we now read annually.)

And these are the books I haven tentatively set for 2016:

Awe – Paul David Tripp (I am already reading this.)
Give Them Grace – Elyse Fitzpatrick & Jessica Thompson
5000 Year Leap – Cleon Skousen
The Pleasures of God – John Piper (I need to read more Piper.)
Prayer: Asking & Receiving – John R. Rice
Norm & Nobility – David Hicks (I read this every year.)
A Christmas Carol – Dickens
War and Peace – Tolstoy (Maude translation)
The Brothers Karamazov – Dostoevsky (Avesy translation)
Moby Dick – Melville (I’m unsure of the edition. Perhaps this one.)

 

What did you read this year? Do you have any questions about my list? What do you plan to read next year? Leave the questions and/or answers in the comments.

Leave a Reply

